A Club for all makes. Founded in 1924 Organising Veteran events including the Pioneer Run, Vintage Pre-1931 and Post Vintage 1931-1940.

Pinhard Trophy January 2024

2023 Winner Jamie Galloway – Trials Rider

The Sunbeam MCC is delighted to announce that 18 year old Trials Rider Jamie Galloway from Fife has been adjudged winner of The Pinhard Trophy for 2023. He has been competing since the age of 6 and this year had outstanding success in the World Trials 3 Championship.

Pinhard is one of the UK's most prestigious awards, the giant 3-gallon cup having been presented since 1950 to the best Under-21 year old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction.

In 2022 and 2023 Jamie came 3rd in the World Trials 3 Championship as well as many successes in British Trials. The Judges were particularly impressed by his efforts in instructing and supporting young riders. He is a Qualified Coach and active in organising Training Days attended by young and old alike.

Jamie's response to learning that he will receive the Pinhard Trophy this year was "After the initial shock of the phone call, the excitement and sheer honour of receiving such a prestigious award kicked in. I am totally blown away, especially when you take a look down the list of previous winners. There are just so many huge names from the world of motorcycling so to say I am proud is an understatement."

These last few years have been amazing and would not have been possible without the fantastic support of my family, sponsors and the trials community. My parents and brother, Ross have been with me every step of the way. Huge thanks to the SACU for putting me forward for the award and I am so proud to represent Scottish Trials.

Previously presentation was at the ACU Awards Dinner in January but this is no longer held, so he will given the award at an event venue in the early spring.

Previous winners are a list of motorcycling greats over the last 70 years who have excelled in all spheres of the sport including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Bill Martin, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Scott Redding, Alexz Wigg and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names. Last year's winner was fellow Scot, Road Racer Rory Skinner.

Sunbeam MCC awards the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard who died in 1948 whilst serving as Secretary of the Club. Judges were editors of leading motorcycle periodicals, General Secretary of the ACU, President of Sunbeam MCC and 2 officials appointed by Sunbeam MCC.

Two photos and List of Previous Winners attached: Questions to Tony Lloyd, Pinhard Trophy Trustee at Sunbeam MCC anthonyjohnlloyd6@gmail.com 07751300233